Scholarship Program

Louisiana Emergency Preparedness Association (LEPA)
College Scholarship Program

The Louisiana Emergency Preparedness Association is a non-profit statewide organization formed in 1980 by local civil defense directors. Its membership is composed of an extensive network of professionals from diverse backgrounds in emergency preparedness, response practitioners, emergency medical services, state, federal and local officials, businesses and industry, and academia with the common goal of improving public safety in emergencies.

The LEPA Board of Directors, recognizing the importance of education and outreach in promoting safety during emergencies, established “The LEPA College Scholarship Program” in 2000. The College Scholarship Committee administers the LEPA Scholarship Program.

The mission of the program is to raise money through LEPA sponsored activities, outside donations, and through academic partnerships to fund at least one college student scholarship each year to an individual (s) pursuing a career in emergency management. The committee shall provide guidance and recommendations to the Board of Directors on the selection process and the dissemination of funding. The scholarship winners are announced at the LEPA annual workshop held each year.

2012-13 Scholarship Recipients

Anthony Trimble
Daniel McDonnell

2011-12 Scholarship Recipients

Arianne Deruise
Sandra Joshlyn
Omar Padilla

2010-11 Scholarship Recipients

Darrick Hesson
Arianne Deruise
David Schlotzhauer

2009-10 Scholarship Recipients

Darrick Hesson
Bruce Cullen

2008-2009 Scholarship Recipients

Bruce Cullen, BRCC
Nicole Pease Coarsey, LSU

2008-2007 Scholarship Recipients

Michael Bitton, LSU
Ezra Boyd LSU
Devyani Kar, LSU